Board index Roller Coaster Games No Limits Coaster Track smoothing?

Track smoothing?

Discuss anything involving No Limits Coaster Simulation.

Post March 10th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Points on hand: 2,253.00 Points
Hi everyone.
So ive decided to start a really big project, and I want it to be as smooth as "gaia"(or whichever other track is smooth) and was wondering which tool i should use. I mean I can sit for like hours and still not get the track as smoothas i want it to be. Thats why I really would like to know what you "pros" use to make ur tracks smooth.
Please dont answer something like, use the track smoother by pressing ctrl-G. It doesnt exactly make the track smooth, it only makes it weirdly shaped...
Thx in advance;)
Also please if u know any good track smoothing program please also add a link or something;) thx.

Post March 10th, 2011, 5:46 pm
RideWarriorNation User avatar
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Points on hand: 1,533.40 Points
Bank: 0.00 Points
Im no pro but I can tell you that pro's use newton2 or handbuild then ahg. There are also methods like HSAK or some other eformulas that you can use to help build a good track.

Post March 10th, 2011, 6:00 pm

Points on hand: 1,385.00 Points
There are multiple methods for making a smooth track. If you want to build using only No Limits, then one tip is to only use ctrl+G when you have the segments ABOUT the right shape. For example, on an airtime hill, if you have only three vertices (start, top, and end) the autosmoother will probably produce bad results. Having more segments will get you better results from the autosmoother, but you will also have to position each vertex more precisely, and should try to keep each segment about the same length. For more information, you should ask a handbuilder.